God is grit

I am blogging about my 40-day abundance journey using the Prosperity Principles in “The Abundance Book” by John Randolph Price.

Day 8

My consciousness of the Spirit within me as my unlimited Source is the Divine Power to restore the years the locusts have eaten, to make all things new, to lift me up to the High Road of abundant prosperity. This awareness, understanding and knowledge of Spirit appears as every visible form and experience that I could possibly desire. 

“Restore the years the locusts have eaten” may be the most beautiful phrase I have ever read. It feels like that. When I lose hours to television, when I am actively not thinking/feeling/growing but instead choosing to numb myself, those are hours the locusts have eaten. When I give in to feelings of pity or envy and become a small, pointy version of myself, the locusts are eating minutes and hours of my life that are not coming back. What a waste!

While meditating on the Principles, I’ve noticed that I physically curl inward when my thoughts drift. The only way I know that is because when I refocus and breathe into the God within, my shoulders instantly drop back and my chin goes up and I feel more expansive. The shift is instantaneous, making the contrast between how I was holding myself (stiff, hunched shoulders, chin tucked, shallow breathes) that much more stark. The locusts are eating!

About the High Road of abundant prosperity:
There is definitely an element of feeling lifted up by this awareness – I certainly feel lighter when I am focused on Spirit and there is something ascendant about it, but I bristled a bit at the term “high road” as it has connotations of moral judgment and exclusion. But what is wrong with moral judgment? Certainly there is a definite high road/better way of being? A way that is understanding and inclusive and loving and hopeful and giving? A way where treating your neighbor as you would yourself is a positive thing. Why was my initial reaction to think that a message from Spirit should automatically apply to everyone? Why did I feel more comfortable with a road that is dirty and humble over a high road of abundance? That’s when I realized that I was making a distinction between accessibility and applicability. The high road of abundance should absolutely be accessible to all, and it is. But reaching that road isn’t easy. It isn’t instant. It takes work, which I am doing now and will probably continue doing forever. My steps toward knowledge, acceptance and understanding are allowing me to apply the Principles to my life. My steps, my work, is what is giving me access to the higher road.

This epiphany clears a quagmire I have been muddling through for the past few days and why I didn’t blog about days 6 and 7. I was struggling with the idea of being given everything I could ever desire. The way the Principles are worded, I read that God grants any wish I could ever have, but that just didn’t seem true. I used the NYC Marathon as an example. I won a place in the lottery last year and trained all summer to be able to run the race in November. I thought a lot about the long, hard, focused training period. I did that, God didn’t. I built my stamina, God didn’t. I ran five days a week, God didn’t.  If  I said, “Jesus take the wheel” and then gone to sleep for five months, I couldn’t have finished the race. It was really bugging me that the Principles (I thought) were pushing that idea of passively giving it up to God. Even today’s statement, “This awareness, understanding and knowledge of Spirit appears as every visible form and experience that I could possibly desire.” seemed quite passive. Quite spoiled.

But if God wasn’t intimately involved in my race, why did I look up, point up and say, “Thank you” when I crossed the finish line? Why was that one of the most emotional moments of my life? It was because God was inside me, helping me discover my willpower and toughness during training. He made sure my eyes were open to the beauty around me on my runs. He was the stranger in a truck, driving down a remote country road minutes after I had a spectacular fall, asking, “Are you alright?” And when I decided I’d finish my training run with my new cuts and bruises instead of getting a ride back to my car, God was that grit. God was the finish line and the work it took to get there.

The Principles aren’t saying every wish will be granted without work. We have to practice abundance every day to make it a reality in our lives and it is Spirit driving us to do that work.

Leave a Reply

