Having a Spirit pizza party

I am blogging about my 40-day abundance journey using the Prosperity Principles in “The Abundance Book” by John Randolph Price.

Day 20

I keep my mind and thoughts off “this world” and I place my entire focus on God within as the only Cause of my prosperity. I acknowledge the Inner Presence as the only activity in my financial affairs, as the substance of all things visible. I place my faith in the Principle of Abundance in action within me. 

I have been in and out of this journey over the past few days, but came back this morning and focused on Principle 10, even though I technically should be back at Principle 1. There was something important for me to get from this, so I settled in and really concentrated on the notion that Spirit within creates opportunities for prosperity. Like on day 10, I don’t accept that Spirit causes prosperity outright, but instead is constantly finding opportunities for prosperity to arrive in my life, provided I let them in. 

After meditation I trolled my Instagram feed and saw this post from Elizabeth Gilbert, the author of “Big Magic” and “Eat, Pray, Love,” and it could not be apter:Screen Shot 2017-04-11 at 7.57.06 AM

I am all for eating pizza and drinking wine and taking naps and dog selfies, and I know this was tongue in cheek, but I want to work for my money. I want to take opportunities that make me uncomfortable, to push through my fears and to create something that I can be proud of. And the money will follow. I think Spirit throws balls of opportunity into the air and my role is to be at ease enough to catch them. These opportunities may take the form of a conversation with a stranger on the 2 train over a bracelet made in Niger. They may take the form of a friend from way back, offering bags of vintage clothes right before I’m about to have a big trunk sale. They may be distant connections helping me find people to interview for a research job. All of these things are uplifting but all of them required some effort on my part. If I hadn’t spoken to the man on the train, if I didn’t make time for a 50-minute subway ride out to Brooklyn, if I didn’t ask for help from people I don’t know very well, none of these things would be real. And that is what makes me feel prosperous. I can feel opportunities building on each other, getting bigger and that is awesome. I don’t want to sit back and eat pizza unless the pizza comes afterward, as a reward for doing the work that Spirit put in front of me to do.

Leave a Reply

